Tracy Price, Renewal Underwriter

What brought you to MJ Kelly?

I started in the insurance industry in 2007 at an MGA and was with them until 2016. In 2017, I went to the retail side and was there until the beginning of this year. I missed working on the carrier side and was happy to transition back. 

What do you like most about your work?

I enjoy developing relationships with co-workers, agencies and company underwriters.

What’s the most challenging part of your job?

Keeping up with the markets and seeing how hard the marketplace is in transportation for the insured is a fun challenge.

How do you keep up with news and trends regarding your industry?  What are your go to resources?

I take advantage of Continuing Education classes, LinkedIn, and Resource Magazine from The National Alliance to stay in the know.

Who has been your biggest influence, and how have they affected you?


Those who have had the biggest influence on my life have been my husband and my former manager. My husband’s belief in my abilities and seeing potential in what I could do has inspired me to be more than I ever thought I could be. His encouragement motivates me and cheers me on. My former manager has been a great mentor. His coaching has taught me so much in my career and his challenges have helped me grow. 

What books and blogs are you currently reading?

I just finished my degree in the Spring of 2020, so leisure reading has been on the back burner for quite some time. I am hoping to finish a Karen Kingsbury series that I started a few years ago here soon.

What project are you the most proud of?  Where do you feel you made the greatest impact and why?

Going back to school and finishing my degree while working full-time and raising my kids and taking care of family. I think that has really allowed my children to see that settling should never be an option and that the only limitations that you have are the ones you place on yourself.

Tell us something that we don’t already know about you?  What are some of your outside interests/hobbies? 

I enjoy time with my family and friends, shopping, singing, photography and my new passion – quilting.